Click on the icons below to share Aiden James with your friends.

Share Aiden

About Aiden James

Introducing Aiden James


I began writing stories roughly fourteen years ago, after pursuing a career as a singer/songwriter in Denver and later in Nashville. My writing career could've been a brief one, as it started one night when it was my turn to read a bedtime story to my two young sons. Rather than read the 'Mouse birthday book' for the umpteenth time, I began a ramble about a mystical world parallel to our own, a world where sinister creatures sought to take a little boy into their hidden lair…forever.

My first critical reviews from my young audience were mixed. My youngest child, Tyler, was enthralled about the magical place I created, and eagerly awaited more. However, my oldest, Christopher, thought it was the dumbest tale he had ever heard! Luckily, my wife, Fiona, listened nearby. She thought the idea had potential, although she kept that fact a secret until the following spring, 1997. When she suggested I create a fuller blown version of this story, it marked the beginning of my love affair with writing stories.

I wish I could tell you that the experience has always been a glorious progression, where crafting characters, incredible landscapes with captivating plots, and surprising twists was easy. Far from it. It took nearly three years for me to complete my first novel--based on the bedtime story to my boys who by then were young teenagers—and another two years to decide if I liked it enough to show it to anyone else. Signed to a small independent publisher in 2004, "The Forgotten Eden" in a previous version was released to small critical acclaim in 2006. But the book found only a very limited audience, so the search for that elusive 'bigger' audience continued.

While pursuing a bigger book deal for my paranormal adventure series, The Talisman Chronicles, of which "The Forgotten Eden" and "The Devil's Paradise" are the first two of five installments, an itch to dabble in something a little different hit me. A ghost story, and one dealing with a murdered teenage girl who waited nearly a century to enact her revenge became my next creation. Completed in 2007, "Cades Cove" was my second release on Kindle, last August. The sequel to this ghost story soon followed in September, entitled "The Raven Mocker". But, I'm getting a bit ahead of myself, so allow me to fast-forward to July 2010, when my good friend J.R. Rain talked me into leaving the elusive NY book deal treadmill, and try something new: ebooks. Specifically, ebooks on Kindle, Nook, and eventually other outlets such as Sony and the Apple IBook store.

I just mentioned the releases for both "Cades Cove" and "The Raven Mocker". But before those books were released on Kindle, there was another—my very first ebook: "Deadly Night". Released in July 2010, it is the first installment of what promises to be a unique and exciting ghost hunting series. Based on a fictional exaggeration of Fiona, and me "Deadly Night" is a mixture of 'now' and where we were 20 years ago as ghost hunters (and in my hard-hitting' days as a Nashville rock n' roller).

"The Vampires' Last Lover" was my first release specifically written for the Kindle and Nook audience. One that pushed the personal envelope for me, the story was written from a female perspective. Like Stephen King, when he wrote "Carrie" so many years ago, my wife provided precious insights into how women view the world around them, and in particular, their true perspectives on males—something I'm sure would surprise most of us guys. Anyway, as the first installment for my new "The Dying of the Dark" series, the story brings a fresh perspective to the vampire genre, focused on what it means to be unique and alone, both for the living and the undead, and how self sacrifice for the good of others remains the most noble aspiration for all creatures—above and below our beloved earth.

Flash forward to summer, 2013.

After releasing seven more books since 2010

The book business and my career have evolved since I released "The Vampires' Last Lover" at the end of 2010. Two more vampire installments in The Dying of the Dark series have happened since then ("The Vampires' Birthright" and "Blood Princesses of the Vampires"), and a fourth book is possible for 2014. Deadly Night has spawned a sequel ("The Ungrateful Dead"). Meanwhile, my most successful series to date, "The Judas Chronicles" started in the spring of 2011 and has seen four bestselling installments published ("Plague of Coins, Reign of Coins, Destiny of Coins, and The Dragon Coin). There will be five more books in this series, which will likely reach its conclusion in mid 2015.

Earlier this year, I embarked on a joint publishing venture with Curiosity Quills Press. To date, we have four brand new series in operation, along with coauthored books to continue The Talisman Chronicles and The Dying of the Dark Vampires. The first series is coauthored with Michelle Wright, and is entitled "The Judas Reflections". Much more meditative than The Judas Chronicles, we are taking the immortal Judas Iscariot back in time with each new book. It is an interesting perspective, since as he moves backward through time, his personality and soul show less and less likeable characteristics, as compared to the Judas Chronicles. This series promises to be a lot of fun, and the first two installments ("Murder in Whitechapel" and "Curse of Stigmata") are available now.

But there so much more, beginning with "The Serendipitous Curse of Solomon Brandt", co-authored with Lisa Collicutt, and set for release in late July. A tale about the true nature of good and evil revolves around a wicked plantation owner in Savannah, Georgia and an unusual Hoodoo curse. This will be followed by a fun science fiction series co-authored with James Wymore, entitled "The Actuator". Lots of genre bending that effects the physical world—literally. Following this is serialized supernatural thriller in pint-sized installments called "Mind's Eye", coauthored with Grace Eyre.

Curiosity Quills is also handling the remaining installments for the Talisman Chronicles. The last new project for this year is the long awaited book 3 from that series. I am happy to announce that "Hurakan's Chalice" will be available sometime in September.

That brings us up to date. My commitment to you all remains the same…to create the finest stories my imagination can concoct. And, as always, I want to hear your thoughts. We share this journey together, and I aim to please!

Peace and love always,